Home » Archive » Zooey Deschanel and Feminism

Zooey Deschanel and Feminism

http://hellogiggles.com/what-does-feminism-mean-to-you-this-is-what-it-means-to-zooey-deschanel

This article from the HelloGiggles website talks about feminism and femininity. I really like this post because often times society tries to make it seem like being feminine is to be anti-feminist. The article focuses on the actress Zooey Deschanel, who is a co-founder of the HelloGiggles website. She is many times seen wearing dresses or bows, and because of this the media has met her with criticisms for setting back the gains made by the feminist movement. She addressed this issue by stating: “I’m just being myself. There is not an ounce of me that believes any of that crap that they say. We can’t be feminine and be feminists and be successful? I want to be a f–king feminist and wear a f–king Peter Pan collar. So f–king what?” Zooey is a co-creater of a successful website, a singer, an actress, a producer, etc, and it’s unfair to her that the media spends less time focusing on her achievements and more time focusing on the way she looks. Another quote I really like from the article says, “It’s kind of incredible to think that we’ve almost made it to the Jetsons-era, yet we still can’t wrap our heads around a woman who wears bows and believes in gender equality.”

This issue reminds me of something that we talked about awhile ago in class; that in our culture, feminine characteristics aren’t valued as much as masculine characteristics. At first this idea appears to be obvious, because men are the dominant gender in our society. But this idea can even be applied to young kids; it’s considered pretty normal/acceptable to see a young girl that relates as a tomboy, but in society it’s not considered okay for a young boy to be feminine. In fact, there’s really no positive word to describe a feminine boy.  This is because starting young, we learn that it’s better to have some masculine qualities. I definitely can see this idea being true; when I was young I remember deciding that I hated the color pink and not wanting to wear dresses. Looking back, I’m not sure if this problem with being girly was real, or if I just saw that being a tomboy was considered more “cool” than it was to be more feminine. I can see now how negative these ideas are; girls as well as boys are taught at a young age that there is something wrong with being too feminine, and in this way it’s hard for them to just be themselves.


2 Comments

  1. rghannam says:

    I think Zooey is one of the most beautiful people on the planet while also being herself, which makes her one of the most beautiful people in the world. That’s her style, can’t you tell by the way she acts? Sings? I wear pink, I think it has more to do with what you look good in and if you have the skin tone to get away with it, rather than saying “Am I gonna look like an idiot wearing pink as a guy.” I actually just bought 6 shirts from express, 2 of which were purple, different shades. Our culture is ridiculous though, go to Australia and it’s normal for guys to be wearing light teal or yellow pants, here you would probably get punched in the stomach for something like that.

  2. neshaw2013 says:

    I agree with you that from a young age, male children are taught that there is something wrong for them to be feminine. Also, I find Zooey to be a good role model as she stands up for herself and her unique style. She is a uniquely funny person and artist that is sure to continue her success and influence.

Leave a Reply

