Home » Archive » the white privilege

the white privilege

the white privilege ….. I think the title of this says it all. the world is ran based on the dominant population based on the victors of whatever war or battle has been fought. So it is reasonable to say that these privileges exist. when I read our assigned reading by Peggy McIntosh, I experienced a moment of realization that this is really reality. Because on her list of approximately 50 items there were several ones that I have witnessed or have happened to me. the one that sticks out to me is the one that talks about being followed in the store due to the color of your skin. this is crazy because this has happen to me a couple of times which I have thought this is totally rude and I have refused to go to that store anymore. I believe everyone deserves their respect and should be treated fairly. how do we preach to our kids not to judge a book by its cover but that is what we do everyday to everyone we see and meet.

The next one on her list that stuck out to me is I can take a job that with an affirmative action employer without having my co workers on the job suspect that I got the job because of my race. My sister works at a business were the first couple of months there she had to spend so much time just trying to prove that she had enough experience to hold the title she did and that she deserved the job she received. Her coworkers refused to extend an helping hand to her whenever she may have needed it. There are times I remember her talking about she is ready to quit because of how hostile the environment was and what did not make it any better was the fact that she was a woman. This did not sit well with the men in the company. I really don’t know why after decades of civil rights progression we cannot truly progress as a society.

               


Leave a Reply

