Home » Archive » The Invisible War

The Invisible War

Watching the documentary, “ The Invisible War “, by director Kirby Dick brought so many emotions of anger, tears and fear for the men and women who serve our country. I am so hurt and ashamed that in this day and age our military is allowed to handle rape so totally different than the actual country does.  That these military offenders just get to walk out in America with paid for medical expenses for violent criminal issues because it’s only in the military judicial system. Many of the offenders are not even punished because of the shame the military may face.  It is a shame that in this day and with the vast growth of technology and knowledge, woman are still treated differently  in the military and are in just as much danger being rape in the army as if walking down the street at night. I cringed hearing how the military accept sex offenders and learning how uneducated men control whether a person is guilty of rape. I felt to sorrow because most of victims were treated as if they caused the crime. I never imagine a case of the woman who single being charge with adultery and the man that is married is charged with nothing, UNBELIEVELE!!!!  I was so horrified and sadden by these victims stories in documentary. I didn’t even want to imagine the amount of untold stories because the amount of victims who don’t report their rape period. To me the military is also creating and giving monsters a pat on that back only to save face or shall I say reputation. All through history military has been known for its secrecy and its strong patriarchal ran atmosphere but the documentary clearly show how devastating the consequences has been and still is ongoing for our men and women in the military. I think this documentary was well done and a clear upsetting view of how the crime of rape differs in the military versus rape being handled by civilian judicial system. I’m hopeful this document will bring to light the sexual abuse of our soldiers. If anyone asks me about joining the armed forces, I would recommend watch this documentary first. Unless someone steps up to put an end to these horrific crimes which has not been done as of 2013, rape will be an occupational hazard of the armed forces.


3 Comments

  1. tlhays says:

    Wow. I haven’t watched the documentary yet but, you commentary really makes me want to see it more. I commend people that are a part of the military but, I do think that a lot is covered up when military is discussed because they are watched and seen with such power. I feel like they get a pat on the back whereas “civilians” would be tried to the fullest extent.

  2. sgadille says:

    I agree with everything that you wrote. I felt the same way watching that documentary and at the same time, I felt so ignorant because I had no idea that the military had such patriarchal laws. It is simply outrageous that they have not been changed and that the military hasn’t the morals to make any improvements. Because of this documentary, I will never support anyone’s plans to join the military.

  3. jasonjameson says:

    I was also shocked by “The Invisible War“. In general, I do not support war and “The Invisible War“ is another reason to affirm my position.

    I am glad that as a result of “The Invisible War“ Kori Cioca was able to get her surgery.

    The “The Invisible War“ is one of those documentaries that needed to be made to bring light to grave injustice and cycles of oppression and sexism.

    http://www.notinvisible.org/kori_cioca_since_the_invisible_war

Leave a Reply

