Home » Archive » Sexting

Sexting

Sexting teenager is such a terrifying subject for me because I am a parent of two children, ages 14 and 20.  I can say I worry now more with my daughter at the age of 14 then I ever have during the entire time my son who is now 20, has had a cell phone, but that another story within itself.   The article “Sexting” by Amanda Lenhart, trigger many questions in my head knowing that both my children have phones. And from day one I have been behaving on my worst fear which them conversing with an online predator (someone they haven’t met is my definition).  I constantly stress to my children to not talk to strangers on the phone, and mainly to be careful of adults portraying themselves as teenagers luring children into sexting type conversations.  Also I told them about posting and sending picture online because you can never know who is on the other end and disgraceful pictures or messages online can follow you forever.  It clear to me in this generations it very important to teach our children early all about sexting whether its via email, instant messaging or a social website. Due to many school now incorporating computer skills in elementary school and the new iPhones are practically mini computers in a person’s hand. A real problem that this generation is having is thinking that the more skin I show the sexier I am.  When browsing on Facebook, I see so many young girls with lips poked out glossy, boys and girls with their shirt pulled up to show their abs on their stomach for their peers or whoever to see. In my eyes some of those pictures are very close to explicit. Or is it because I’m the parent?  I would love to see all children under the age of 18 with phones that had smut free applications on their phone protecting them as a law, but for now it’s good we article like these to give us knowledge about the importance of protecting and understanding teenage sexting. My reasons for being over protective to my children about their phones are my reasons, but I do urge all parents to educate themselves and their children when you give your child a cellphone.  If you don’t believe it is an important subject for all parents to address with their child try reading this article by Phuong Ly, (http://www.greatschools.org/parenting/behavior-discipline/2079-sexting.gs?page=all), about a teenager named Jessica Logan who killed herself after her boyfriend forward explicit photos of her after a break up.


1 Comment

  1. scgutier says:

    I am only 21 so it hasn’t been that long since I was in high school but it has changed so much in such a short time. My cousin is 14 years old and the stories he tells me are unbelievable. He has shown me pictures that girls send him because they think that it’s cute and is the only way to get attention from guys. I think the biggest issue is that they don’t think about how their lives can be affected by sending the wrong thing to the wrong person. Once something is out by text or on the computer, it will follow them for the rest of their lives.

Leave a Reply

