Home » Archive » Rick Santorum

Rick Santorum

Rick Santorum, wrote ‘It Takes a Family.’ Sitting in our class this past week as we discussed women working or not I was reminded of the interviews with Rick Santorum as the Republican party was trying to decide who to make their presidential candidate. Every interview I had watched or listened to with Santorum made him appear to be, well, a jerk. One in particular he was asked about his book which admittedly I have not read, but the interviewer pointed out that the book suggests women ought not work. The title is “It Takes a Family” and one of the many themes is that a family unit – more specifically the nuclear family – is the backbone of society, and women are at the center of it. Santorum was torn apart in this interview for writing a book that belittles and degrades women. In response, Santorum claimed that his wife co-wrote the book. If that were the case, where is credit given to her? Additionally, that does not change that the views he expresses are the total opposite of everything that feminists have been fighting for for a century.

The title of the book was chosen as a response to a book by Hillary Clinton, ‘It Takes a Village.’ The fact that he would publish a book to specifically counter one written by Hillary is simply offensive, unnecessary, and unoriginal.

In trying to find the aforementioned interview online I came across one that was aired on NPR. I am a regular listener of NPR so this particular interview I did not remember because honestly I hear a lot of them and some I simply forget. But throughout the entire interview Santorum is pushy and rude. Even when discussing that he is called names and controversial he acts bewildered yet still acts rude. When he is asked about this controversy he laughs.

I honestly feel as though a lot of the republican leaders do not treat women as equals.

http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=4784905


2 Comments

  1. shaniperk says:

    I haven’t read the book and I can’t say that I agree with what he says. He should note that our government, politics, and beliefs of those in society prevent most of this from happening. I do think that children benefit from being with their mothers, but I don’t agree that women should stop working just to raise a child. Being a mother is not a woman’s total identity. He wants the educational system to built upon to help the parents and not the institution. He should start by making education equal across the board. I do agree with him on life. I believe that it does start at conception and that all life should be valued.

  2. lysaleh says:

    I agree. To think that he could lessen the offense by saying his wife co-wrote the book is ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

