Home » Archive » Kansas Anti-Abortion Bill

Kansas Anti-Abortion Bill

http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/nation/2013/04/06/abortion-kansas-life-fertilization/2058515/

Personally, I am against the concept of abortion, unless in cases of rape or if the pregnancy is deemed a medical emergency for the mother, as I believe in fate and that everything happens for a reason. However, I do believe women who are educated about the risks versus benefits of abortion should be permitted to make their own decisions about what happens to their bodies. Therefore, the government should not have the right to intrude in a woman’s personal medical decisions. In the above article published yesterday, USA Today describes the bill that was sent to the Kansas governor concerning anti-abortion.
Amongst many of the things stated in the bill, “life begins ‘at fertilization,’” is one of the most powerful statements that the article touches on. Everyone has their own opinions about abortion, and I had never verbally taken a stand on it until recently because I’m not positive about what I would do if I were in the situation. Regardless, I don’t think it’s any of the government’s concern what a woman decides to do with her body.
The reason I am against abortion is because the fetus is a potential human life, and therefore I don’t believe we have the right to terminate a life. With the fetus being a potential human being, the mother has brought it into its body, whether intentionally or unintentionally. By choosing to engage in sexual intercourse, she should have considered the potential outcome of possibly becoming pregnant. Personally, I think it is selfish of a woman to have an abortion if she is fully capable of supporting another life. If she made the decision to have sex, she indirectly made the decision to be responsible for a baby. You have to take precautionary measures if you are going to engage in sexual intercourse. Contraception does not have a 100% success rate, so it cannot always be relied upon. If a woman did take contraceptive measures and still became pregnant, that is simply just the fate of the matter. But I don’t think that you can go on killing a potential human being because your contraceptive measures weren’t up to par. That is the person’s own irresponsibility.
In the case of rape, I think abortion is acceptable. If a woman was forced to engage in such activity, she should not be forced to raise an illegitimate child. That may sound harsh, but I’m speaking as a woman thinking about raising a child that I was hurt or abused to conceive. Women do not choose to get raped, and they definitely do not choose to become pregnant with the child of their rapist. In cases like these or if the pregnancy may be detrimental to the woman’s health, I believe that the woman should be able to choose whether to keep the baby or not, but only in the very early stages of pregnancy.


3 Comments

  1. shaniperk says:

    Abortion is one of those topics that is super sensitive. I believe that life begins at conception and that I don’t have the right to take a life. I recently attended a Right to Life event and a young lady stood to tell her story. As a child she often wondered about her father and his absence. As she got older she longed for him. She and her mother didn’t sit down to discuss her father very often. Once she went away to college, she was going down a road that was destined to lead with a bad situation. She returned home for some guidance and restoration. It was then that her mother told her she was a product of rape. I was so shocked because I knew this girl. She is a very beautiful person, she’s extremely positive and sweet.

    To see her stand proud with her mother nearby was profound. I was never too sure of instances of rape and incest, it was always hard to not think about abortion, but to witness someone so beautiful and positive that came from a bad situation was enough to show me that anything is possible.

  2. maelsaye says:

    While I’m against abortion, I do not believe the government should be allowed to tell a woman what to do with her own body. Even though I could never allow a possible child of mine to be aborted, I cannot put myself in the shoes of others. There are hundreds of different circumstances that can call for abortion that must be taken into consideration. I believe abortion should be legal according to law, and left to the individuals moral standpoint.

  3. kmsweet says:

    I like that people are saying that although they don’t agree with abortions, they also don’t believe it’s the government’s job to regulate what a woman does with her body. So often I feel like people associate being pro-choice with being pro-abortion; just because someone is pro-choice doesn’t mean that they “like” abortions. In my opinion, the government using power to tell a woman she has to have her child is using the same power that the government in China uses to limit the number of births a woman has, and in both cases it just shouldn’t be the government’s decision. I personally am pro-choice because since I don’t know exactly what I would do given the situation, I don’t think it should be in my control to decide what someone else does.

Leave a Reply

