Home » Archive » Feminine and Feminist

Feminine and Feminist

http://pinterest.com/pin/271553052501624138/

This image caught my attention while on Pinterest.  I think it reflects who I am and what I believe.  I consider myself to be feminine, not extremely girly, but feminine.  I enjoy wearing make-up, getting my hair and nails done, wearing dresses and high heels.  I am in a committed relationship and I cannot wait to have a future with him someday.  I see us getting married and having children.  I plan on having my own career, but I do want to take advantage of the time I have with my children while they are young and be a stay at home mom.  However, that does not mean I am not a feminist.  I believe in equal rights between the sexes and that everyone has a choice of how they want to live their lives, whether that means being a working parent or stay at home parent (that is the hot topic tied with feminism).  Society tells us that to be a feminist means to be a loud, obnoxious, man-hating, hairy-leg lesbian.  That is further from the truth.  To be a feminist does not mean to have a certain look.  You can be a feminist who is quiet, shy, loud, obnoxious, hairy, shaved, a stay at home mom, a working mom, a stay at home dad, a working dad, a republican, a democrat, religious, non-religious, straight, gay, bi, transgender, cisgender, etc.  To be a feminist is not restrictive to one set of characteristics.  If you believe in equality for the sexes then you are a feminist.  Don’t be afraid to claim that title.

Society has created a negative connotation to the word “feminist” and it needs to stop.  That is why so many people are afraid to claim that title. I am so glad to see celebrities, both male and female, advocating for feminism.  It brings more awareness to people.  They are showing us that to be a feminist is not a bad thing, it is a positive thing.

This class has shown me to be proud and open about who I am and what I believe.  I no longer have a stereotypical idea of what it means to be a feminist.


4 Comments

  1. shaniperk says:

    Good Post. I too have learned so much from this course. I misunderstood what being a feminist meant. Those stereotypes are exactly what I thought being a feminist was. I think we should all be able to express how we feel and we shouldn’t judge or be judged based on appearances or negative stereotypes associated with different terms. Being different is what makes us so unique.

  2. kmsweet says:

    I really like that image, because often times society tells us that to be feminine is anti-feminist which is not true at all. I read a magazine article a few months ago about the actress Zooey Deschanel; she’s often wearing dresses or bows and for this reason the media has called her out for this as if it sets back the feminist movement in some way. To this, Zooey answered, “I’m just being myself. There is not an ounce of me that believes any of that crap that they say. We can’t be feminine and be feminists and be successful? I want to be a f–king feminist and wear a f–king Peter Pan collar. So f–king what?” I love Zooey!

  3. maelsaye says:

    This class has changed my view on feminists as well. I used to think that feminists hated men and were loud and defiant. Now I know that anybody can be a feminist, including men. I hope one day the stereotypes associated with feminism will fade into obscurity and people will start seeing feminism for that it really is.

  4. lysaleh says:

    I feel the same way. Before I took this class I too had associated a negative connotation with the term feminist. The other day I was sitting in the UC and heard a male student say to his friend, “…feminists…those people annoy me so much.” Seriously I laughed to myself as I shook my head because people don’t even know that feminism means equality between the sexes, and instead pair it with man-hating.

Leave a Reply

