Home » Archive » Double Standard Response

Double Standard Response

photo-1
This is a response to: https://wgst303.wordpress.com/2013/04/07/double-standards/

Your image makes some very interesting points and your analysis was strong.

I have witnessed these double standards and I assume everyone has also witness them.

I have seen women beat up men.  It makes me really uncomfortable no matter the level of damage done to the man.   I have also seen men hit women.  I, of course, stop it both times, but the stigma that the man should be able to defend himself is always there.  However, if the male who was being attacked fought back he may have been labeled the aggressor.

I have also trained with several women who can fight far better than even a strong man.  I have seen them kick with such power it could break bones. [They kicked far harder than I could and I am pretty strong]  So I know many women are able to fight.  However, I do not think a woman who is a trained fighter would be the type to assault a man.

That being said, the reason there is the stigma is because so many women are battered by their partners and it often goes unreported for years.  So when there is an altercation and a woman is injured it is assumed the man is at fault.   That being said, I do not think it is brave to hit a man or any person unless it is in self-defense.

The facts show that, “25% of women and 7.6% of men were raped and/or physically assaulted by a current or former spouse, cohabiting partner, or dating partner/acquaintance at some time in their lifetime.”   So women are four times more likely to be victims of domestic violence, but men still account for a large number of the cases.

The splitting the bill issue is interesting.  A lot of women want to pay for half.  If I have extra money I do not mind, but I figure if we are both of equal income then we should split it.  Now if I was wealthy I would not care if I paid for everything.  I still pay the whole bill sometimes, but it is usually for something that I just want to do.  I would not pay the bill or even be expected to pay the bill unless it was like my plan and it was agreed I was treating in advance.  For example, if I bought tickets to something then I would probably just pay unless there was agreement otherwise.  However, if I went on a date to a place I don’t think I would or should pay the whole bill. I actually doubt I would get the chance to pay it all even if I tried.

Men and women can be the subject of objectification, so I see no difference between the staring.  I guess it is a matter of how long the person is staring and to whom.  If it is unwelcome then it is wrong.

Society has many stigmas and gender roles we must work past.  Sexism and discrimination is all over the place, but please do not be misled by a few examples.  Women, especially women of color or women of lower social economic class, are the victims of greater discrimination than men.

stats:
http://www.americanbar.org/groups/domestic_violence/resources/statistics.html


Leave a Reply

