Home » Archive » Textual Harassment

Textual Harassment

The article Textual Harassment by Donna St. George brings up an issue that I don’t think people are taking too seriously. Nowadays it’s more common to just text people than it is to call them. It wasn’t too long ago that I was a freshman in high school with a 250 text message limit on my cell phone. If I really wanted to talk to my friends I had to call them and a lot of my friends didn’t even have a cell phone and I didn’t have unlimited minutes on mine so we talked on our house phones. Talking on my house phone meant that my family could pretty much hear what I was saying (my walls are super thin) and having a sister like mine, she was always listening on the other phone anyway. So anything I said on the phone I knew could potentially be heard by someone in my house.

Today my friends and I don’t call each other, we just text. I can be anywhere and still communicate with people and unlike before, I can say whatever I want in a text. The plus side of this is that it is easier to stay in touch with people because you can literally text them whenever. What I love is the fact that if I want to tell someone something without someone else in the room hearing I can just text them.

Unfortunately like everything else, there are people that abuse this technology and use it for harm. Now people can harass, stalk, and bully people whenever they want and without anyone else knowing about it. People are experiencing this and not really even doing anything about it because they don’t view it as an issue. A couple of weeks ago a friend and I went out and her fiancé called her and was upset because he wanted her to come home. She told him she was staying out and would be home soon and hung up the phone. We only stayed out for a little bit longer that night because he called and texted her over 100 times telling her that she needed to come home along with some mean comments. If it wasn’t because I was there reading what he was sending her, no one would even know what was going on. I told her that this wasn’t right but she didn’t see it as such a big deal. The article mentions a bill passed in Maryland that encourages school districts to teach on this topic. I feel that this is something that should be brought to the attention of all people because a lot of people like my friend don’t realize that this is something that shouldn’t be happening and something should be done about it.


2 Comments

  1. abergesk says:

    Wow, over 100 texts, thats crazy! I agree with the bill Maryland passed. When you think about how fast technology is advancing, we barely get a chance to see the true power of this technology. Kids these days don’t even think about the power of this technology, they just take it for granted and think they can do what ever they want with it.

    • scgutier says:

      Yeah I know some of them wouldn’t even know what to do with themselves if they didn’t have unlimited texting or acess to other media.

Leave a Reply

