Home » Archive » The Oscars and Jennifer Lawrence

The Oscars and Jennifer Lawrence

I love the Oscars, everything about it.  This year stirred up a lot of controversy with Seth MacFarlane hosting, particularly his “We Saw Your Boobs” mini musical as discussed in class.  While watching the Oscars myself, I did not notice much anti-feminist or degrading moments until after the award ceremony.  I saw some quick footage of the press conferences of all the award winners.  I particularly liked Jennifer Lawrence’s responses to all of the questions regarding her falling while on her way up to the stage.  However, I was alarmed by a question one man asked.  He asked Jennifer if she had felt she has peaked in Hollywood because she received her first Oscar so young at 22.  I was shocked.  I could not believe he actually asked her that question.  Jennifer’s response was very humorous.  She simply gave it a good laugh and said she was now worried after he had brought it up.

After her response, I thought about Ben Affleck, Robert De Niro, Daniel Day Lewis- any male popular award winner.  Would the same question be asked to them at 22?  I personally do not think so.  These men have had lifelong careers and that supports the idea that men are never too old for Hollywood.  Women on the other hand, are no longer desirable once they start showing wrinkles.  Middle aged women in Hollywood rarely exist.  And what does that say about Jennifer Lawrence beating out the women in her category.  It was obvious she was considered the most attractive female in the bunch.  Is this Hollywood’s way of saying beautiful is the best?  I would think that to be true if it were not for Meryl Streep.  Also, I believe Jennifer’s win was much deserved.

The reporter could have badly worded his question or did not realize that it was offensive but nonetheless he asked it.  It made me think twice.  I’m wondering if others found it offensive as well.

 

Here’s the link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CLKZb1wLmAY


Leave a Reply

