Home » Archive » It’s very dear to me, the issue of

It’s very dear to me, the issue of

It’s very dear to me, the issue of gay marriage. Or as I like to call it: ‘marriage.’ You know, because I had lunch this afternoon, not gay lunch. I parked my car; I didn’t gay park it.

Liz Feldman

Think about this. Why is gay marriage banned? Why can’t gay couples have the same freedoms as heterosexual couples? There are a lot of questions I have about this, but I have never heard an answer good enough. 

I don’t care if you believe marriage is between a man and a woman; Obama does. But he’s not about to start telling someone they can’t love who they love and that they aren’t allowed to be married together. 

I believe marriage is between a man and a woman. I am not in favor of gay marriage. But when you start playing around with constitutions, just to prohibit somebody who cares about another person, it just seems to me that’s not what America’s about. Usually, our constitutions expand liberties, they don’t contract them.

Barack Obama

I believe you are a terrible person if you try to stop a marriage from happening because of what gender they are. A marriage is supposed to be a bond about love and wanting to stay together forever and when you start banning that for certain people, you might as well ban it for the rest of the world. It isn’t fair. There is no difference beside the fact that it isn’t between two opposite genders; and that’s okay.

I’ve always been very strong for gay rights, and it’s not about to change any time soon. Since I was younger, I’ve been taught that you can love whoever you want. My uncle is gay and we’ve never had any issues about it. 


2 Comments

  1. ninazm21 says:

    The debate concerning gay marriage does not stem from someone be for or against the actual marriage. Rather, it arises from the ideological, mental and emotional differences among those for and against gay marriage. Getting married really changes very little besides gaining a piece of paper and being legally bound to your partner, in most cases temporarily. Marriage today represents far less as compared to 25 or 35 years ago. In our society many people, heterosexual, homosexual or bisexual, outwardly partake in relational actions that were once reserved for marriage. 30 years ago these actions were socially unacceptable. Today, such actions are the norm. I find it difficult to believe that those who oppose gay marriage do so out of respect for the value of the institution itself. Rather, it’s those ideological differences that lead someone to oppose the existence of homosexual relationships. Being against gay marriage is merely a front for a loathing of homosexual behaviors and relationships.

  2. Jack Manska says:

    “I’ve always been very strong for … rights” 😉

Leave a Reply

