Home » Archive » Anti-Gay Church Now Has A Rainbow View

Anti-Gay Church Now Has A Rainbow View

Volunteers paint house in gay pride rainbow colors

 

While browsing the web, I came across an article on CNN that I found very interesting. Westboro Baptist Church in Topeka, Kansas is notoriously known for their angry anti-gay protests at military funerals. When activist Aaron Jackson saw a for-sale sign on a house across the street from the church, he decided to make a statement. He and his non-profit organization “Planting Peace” painted the house in rainbow colors this week, representing gay pride. Although Jackson isn’t gay, he is known for being big on equality and compassion. In 2007, the people voted him a CNN Hero for his charity work in Haiti. Jackson plans to use the “Equality House” to raise money for an anti-bullying campaign. According to CNN, he has raised almost $22,000 already.

The leaders of Westboro Baptist Church released a statement to CNN saying, “We thank God for the sodomite rainbow house. It is right across the street from the only church that loves people enough to tell them the Bible truth about the filthy, soul-damning, nation destroying sin of sodomy. The sodomite rainbow house helps shine a bright spotlight on this!” The fact that there is an entire church with dedicated followers whose sole purpose is to condemn gay people baffles me. This is 2013, not the 1800’s!

I found this article extremely amusing because of the fact that Jackson is not even gay. A heterosexual male painting a house in rainbow colors across the street from an anti-gay church just to piss them off is hilarious to me. I read the entire article with a smile on my face knowing that Jackson was able to successfully “stick it” to this church that openly spreads ideals of hate and homophobia. I tip my hat off to Jackson and his organization for pulling this off. The “Equality House” is simply genius.

It will be interesting to see if the church holds any violent or angry protests at this home across the street in the coming weeks. I believe that this is only the beginning of the story and we have not heard  the last of the “Equality House.” I believe the opposing ideals will begin to  clash until something violent happens. Hopefully it will not get to that point, but this house being built across the street from an anti-gay church can’t be a good thing. Especially when that church is known for angry and violent protests.

http://inamerica.blogs.cnn.com/2013/03/20/anti-gay-church-now-has-a-rainbow-view/?hpt=us_bn4 


4 Comments

  1. rachel0minidis says:

    I love that he did this to the house. I can’t stand when people use the bible as their source and justification for hating gays. What most people don’t understand is that the bible is something that is not always taken to be literal. If that were the case, it would be justified to kill people for working on the sabbath, or stone them for lying, which is obviously not okay.

    It drives me crazy because if these people were the great religious people they claim to be, I think they would understand that God loves all people and would probably condemn the hatred that they are practicing.

  2. mpietila says:

    I am so glad you posted this because I saw it too! I love it. I am an ally for the LGBT community and am so happy to see support across the country. I believe God loves everyone for who they are and does not criticize. And it is also wrong for people to push Christianity on others. We live in a country that accepts all different religions or non religions, why can’t we respect those who are different from the hetero-norm?

  3. lysaleh says:

    I love that! I think it’s awesome that they did that, way to make a statement. Hopefully the house speaks volumes to those that pass by, and maybe get through to some of those church-goers.

Leave a Reply

