Home » Archive » Women Love Science Too

Women Love Science Too

One morning a few days ago I woke up to CBS’ This Morning show and they were reporting on a story about fans of a Facebook page that were incredibly shocked when they found out that the page was run by a female. Elise Andrew, the manager of a social media company, happened to post her twitter profile picture, which received thousands of comments expressing the shock of her being a woman.  The surprise was expressed as for one her gender and, her expertise and knowledge in science. Her page on Facebook is called “I F*cking Love Science”, which features memes, funny anecdotes, and various articles about you guessed it, Science. The page is very popular, with over four millions subscribers.

The question that arose in my head is why are women perceived not to be experts in math in science? Growing up, I’ve always heard that women were generally not good in subjects like math and science but it never reflected in classrooms I’ve been in. I wasn’t sure if it was because I am horrible when in comes to anything involving numbers, but in my experience female classmates seemed to be capable solving the most complicated of equations.

So then I realized that the science community is just a small facet of regular society. A society dominated my men. One point that was made in an article I read was that when one thinks of a nerd, they normally think of a male. No matter how smart and awkward he is, he’s still the normalized ideal. So why would the realm of science be any different? Women in the field still have to break down barriers to not only have their voices heard but to also be recognized and respected for their accomplishments. And this popular Facebook page, “I F*cking Love Science” is one of those achievements. I happen to be a fan of the page and a lot the material is pretty interesting and entertaining. I recommend that you all check it out.

Source: http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2013/03/130325-elise-andrew-i-fking-love-science-women/


2 Comments

  1. gomezale says:

    I absolutely love this Blog post. I can relate with this. Right now my area of focus in school is Biology and so many people become shocked when I tell them. Why do people get so shocked when a girl is good in Math or Science or are interested in pursuing a career in that area of focus? It doesn’t make sense to me how society has shaped the school “norms”. It really doesn’t matter what career someone wants to pursue, the important thing should be how much effort they are willing to put into it. 🙂

  2. Stephanie Jones says:

    Of course women can be good at science and math! I’m a little surprised that someone would be so shocked that a science page could be ran by a woman. It does follow society’s belief that women can’t be good at math or science though, so I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised. But you are right in saying that people think of a nerdy guy when they think of someone who is good at math and science and, therefore, assume only guys can be nerds. How ridiculous! Girls can be nerds too!

Leave a Reply

