Home » Archive » The Invisible War Movie

The Invisible War Movie

invisible war

I will admit that when I sat down to watch this movie I had no idea what to expect let alone its topic. As I watched the Invisible War, I felt a huge array of emotions. My confusion turned into sadness which later transformed into anger. Rape in the US Military? What? How could this happen? What is the military doing about this? The answer…. NOTHING!

If someone would have asked me before I watched this movie if I thought a female could have been raped in the military, I would have said, “No, or if it did happen it would have been done to a female/male POW as a torture tactic done by our enemy.” I was deeply affected by the content of the movie and saddened to how the women in our US military have been treated by their male peers as well as their male superiors. I am horrified by this truth. The enemy here is not Osama Bin Laden or Saddam Hussein but our own soldiers as well as the institution, US Military, who have been given the task of protecting our nation and its people. How can they be given the task of protecting our nation when they can’t even protect their own (female) soldiers from this cruel and inhumane treatment?

A person who decides to join the military is already willing to put their life on the line to fight for our freedom. I doubt they all got in line and went through all of the paperwork to sign up to be raped or disrespected in this disgusting way. The last thing these individuals should be worried about is being raped by their peers. According to the movie, half a million women have been assaulted in the US military. A guy with drugs gets 5 years while a rapist only gets 2 weeks punishment. Reporting rape isn’t taken seriously. Instead, women are immediately labeled as the problem or worse labeled as “easy prey” for the next rapist to take their turn. Men charged with rape were still allowed to enlist in the military as long as they had a waiver. It was terribly difficult to listen to one woman after another tell their story of how they were raped and mistreated. Unfortunately for them, the worst part was not listening to a woman’s rape story but having it be a part of one’s life and dealing with the effects of this traumatizing event.

For me, the worst part of the movie was the female doctor/psychologist who was hired by the military to find a solution to this problem. Her solution was to arm the female soldiers with knowledge such as practicing the buddy system, being aware of your surroundings, never putting oneself in harm’s way, etc. This solution places the responsibility on the victim(s) rather than changing the behavior of the predator(s). As a woman, I am appalled and embarrassed for her and her so-called solution to this problem.

What is the real solution? The real solution is to change the behavior of the predator(s) and to teach men how to respect women. Women are not placed on this earth to be a part of a man’s amusement. We were placed on this earth to be companions (with consent) and equals. Women are to be respected and protected. As I was compiling my thoughts for this blog post, I came across a video (A Needed Response– http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eZxv5WCWivM) that was created in response to the Steubenville rapist case. The content in this video is simple yet powerful. Hopefully, the female doctor/psychologist from the movie sees this video, learns from it and creates something similar in order to provide the military and its soldiers with a more powerful solution than the buddy system.


6 Comments

  1. jsegrist says:

    It makes me sick to think that women who risk their lives for our country have to fear for their safety from other soldiers. My fiance is in the Army and the fact that this could happen to her terrifies me. The military should be doing something about this, not covering it up or teaching women to avoid it.

  2. khamida23 says:

    I completely agree with you, this disgusts me. Women are risking their lives to fight for their countries, as well as fought for that right, yet are being mistreated and assaulted. We go thinking that these higher figures portrayed to us represent good. In actuality these soldiers are corrupted to do horrible things elsewhere in the world, as well as participate in evil actions in their own army. Sadly we are bias to view soldiers as a mean of protection.

  3. jjschult says:

    I have lost track of the number of military sexual assault briefings I’ve sat through. The military is cracking down hard on all areas of assault of sexual misconduct (Article 120 of the UCMJ). From my own experience, there is a zero tolerance policy in place and JAG’s are more then willing to pursue these cases. One case in particular is the MTI (think Drill Sergeant but in the Air Force) that was just sentenced to 20 yrs in prison. The military, unfortunately like everywhere else in the world has people who will push limits and break laws, but because we are also held to a higher standard it is taken more personally by military members when it does happen. The question of how to deal with it can’t be answered until it is solved outside the military as well.

  4. ckazda2013 says:

    This movie saddened and enraged me as well. I’ve watched 20/20 and 60 minutes before so I knew this was going on in the military.It is just ridiculous how nothing is being done to stop the rapists. Most of them never get caught raping more women or even men in the process and make a career out of the military. In the future this is why I would never allow my children to join the service. I would be too scared for something like this to happen.

  5. scgutier says:

    I had a similar reaction to the film as well feeling sad and then angry. I had heard from a friend that she knew someone who had been raped in the military, so although I was aware that this was something that was happening, I had no idea that it was occurring this much. What was even more shocking was the amount of men that are raped while in the military. I felt that it was really eye opening, but I just wished that they equally shared the experiences of the male victims.

  6. gomezale says:

    I don’t think it’s fair the way victims carry the pressure of not being heard or worse yet being ignored. The perpetrators should be taught to respect and care for them not abuse and harass them. Also to add a comment to this another fact that made me extremely angry was that to top it off women who were raped were accused of adultery. Are they kidding me? Most of the women if not all were NOT even married, the married ones were there abusers. What kind of corrective behavior are they taking in consideration? This isn’t helping the situation at all. But I love the way you gathered your thoughts in this blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

