Home » Archive » Steubenville Rape Case

Steubenville Rape Case

It seems that this topic has been discussed further by many students in class. Since everyone else is talking about it, I figured I’d say a few things also. After finding out all of the facts about the case, I absolutely feel horrible for that poor girl who had to go through all that. The two boys definitely deserved what they got and I think coverage of this case has brought awareness to many young teens and college students nation wide. Not only will everyone be able to see the consequences of such actions, but everyone will now be aware of the law when it comes to consent and the intake of alcohol. Before this rape case came to me attention, I had no clue of this law. However, this is the part that I am a little unsure of. This law, to me, seems to be unfair in many aspects. I do approve the fact that this law protects people from being taken advantage of while intoxicated, but I’m confused with how prior consent works in a situation like this. For instance, I have had experience with overhearing a friend once say, “I am totally going to hook up with someone tonight” when the plans for the night were to go to the bar and enjoy our over 21 privileges. When the night finally came to an end and our designated driver brought us back to our place to all hang out, my friend did exactly what she said she was going to do prior to drinking at the bar, and that was to hook up with someone that night. Since my friend was intoxicated and assuming the guy she hooked up with from the bar was too, could she then claim this event was rape? I mean, by law, neither of the two could have consented, so with this being said, could they both have claimed the event was rape? Is it possible for a person to not only be raped, but also be the rapist in the same case?

I think this case is going to bring an up rise in “rape claimed” cases because of how this law is. Now, I’m not saying that the Steubenville rape case wasn’t rape, because it clearly was. All I’m trying to say is that people go out to parties or to the bar all the time in their teens and college years, and more often than not, these people are looking for hook ups. Some might even say it’s mutual between genders, but just the fact that this is very common to happen in the age group is what matters. If you’re being honest with yourself, you know this has been happening for the past 20+ years too. I find it difficult to understand how consent is completely voided at the first drop of alcohol consumption. If an individual is able to drive after a drop of alcohol, I think an individual is still able to consent in the same manner. As consumption increase, the individual loses ability to drove and the law comes into play, depending on which state you live in. I think consent should be measured how drinking and driving is measured. If someone is unable to drive, then they shouldn’t be able to consent, unless prior consent is given and their objective is a hook up at the end of the night and that is clear among witnesses.

I know there are a lot of strong feelings for this case and similar cases and I just want it to be clear once more that I fully support the verdict to the Steubenville rape case and i’m not denying the fact that the poor girl was raped.


6 Comments

  1. alemara123 says:

    I am surprised of the CNN coverage of this story. The reporter was showing us how difficult it was to watch these boys’ lives being destroyed. What about the victim! What about the young girl who they violated and raped. I think CNN should apology for their biased coverage. They should apologize to the young girl and her family who are going through a hard time and the stigma of rape for the rest of their daughter’s life.

  2. dsielski says:

    Exactly! It doesn’t make sense to me that someone who has only had a drink or two could possibly say that they were not capable of controlling their own actions. However, unless a breathalyzer was done the night of the incident, no one can really tell how drunk a person was so then it is just a case of one person’s word against another.

  3. fatimafak313 says:

    I understand your point. I differ a little in views but I agree on most. The verdict was accurate in this case and these boys had no right to take advantage of the girl given her situation. We need to teach, as a society and a community, not to rape instead of don’t get raped. I think the letter that was read to us in class by professor Martin says it all, one should wait till they are in love with that person and they want to be with you on a physical level.

  4. maelsaye says:

    I agree completely. There’s a difference between blackout drunk and tipsy. That girl at the party was blackout drunk and the boys took advantage of her, which is clearly rape. Having consented sex with a woman who is a little drunk and having her wake up the next morning screaming “Rape!” is ridiculous. But just like the person two posts above me pointed out, unless there was a breathalyzer the night of the incident, it’s usually the woman’s word against the man’s.

  5. hebasha says:

    The definition of “rape” really does bring about the stereotype that women are rape victims are men are the rapists. Although, in theory, defining rape on the same basis of drinking and driving (via a breathalyzer test) sounds great, it doesn’t necessarily sound feasible. Would individuals be expected to take a mandatory breathalyzer test upon leaving any bar or area where alcoholic beverages are served? Seems like a good idea, but I’m wondering if it’s plausible. And in that case, would the individual whose blood alcohol content was higher than the other be the victim? People have varying tolerability to alcohol, so perhaps, although their blood alcohol content was higher, they still maintain the ability to make rational decisions. This turns into another issue of its own: What defines rational decisions? And if we can define rationality, can we decipher who the victim is?

    • jtfick says:

      Those are very interesting points that you have brought up. I didn’t really think of it in too much detail, but I figured it was just a good way to compare it to something. But like you said, it goes way deeper than testing their blood alcohol content because there are people out there who unfortunately function better with alcohol in their system.

Leave a Reply

