Home » Archive » V-Day

V-Day

It takes a lot of guts to get on a stage, in front of about 50 people and moan in about 15 different ways. It also takes a lot of guts to go on stage and discuss the topic of genitalia mutilation. From beginning to end, The Vagina Monologues had not one dull moment. I went Thursday evening to the Social Sciences Building and joined the crowd of people waiting outside the door. The purpose? To celebrate V-Day. Organizations around campus and outside community members came together to put on this amazing performance. V-Day is a global activist movement that works to help put an end to violence towards women and girls. The Vagina Monologues is just one of the many performances put on as a benefit event. Originally, it was written to “celebrate the vagina”, while now that still holds true, it is also to empower people all around to help to end the violence.

In every monologue, you learned something. Some funny, some serious; all of it full of truth. From talking about why our society is afraid of the word “vagina” to why women should learn to love and take care of theirs. They all touch on a certain female experience and tells the story of it. It talks about sex, pubic hair, rape, female genitalia mutilation, orgasms, and masturbation; it really covers it all. As I sat watching, I couldn’t stop laughing at many of the monologues; either because they were so hilarious, or the fact that they’re extremely true. The vagina isn’t a part of the body that women talk about – usually it’s men who do it, and if they do, it’s often in a derogatory way. As for the more serious monologues, my mouth was stuck wide open in shock of some of the more painful stories. I couldn’t help feeling hurt that this has happened and feeling pain for the women it has happened to.

The performance was an amazing way of showing the terrible things that happen all around the world. Eve Ensler was the woman who put together The Vagina Monologues. She had interviewed 200 women about their relationships, their sex life and violence towards women.  The pain we hear about other women go through is directly connected to us emotionally. I believe it is something everybody needs to realize is a thing; this is real life and it happens. Nobody deserves to have these terrible, painful experiences, whether they’re male or female, heterosexual or homosexual. It needs to be stopped.


2 Comments

  1. katieblacker says:

    I totally agree with this – the entire time I was watching I kept thinking “wow, these women are a lot braver than I am”, haha. I could never have gone up there and done what they did, even though it was a good cause. I am definitely going to be recommending The Vagina Monologues to people I know because I agree that it spreads awareness about terrible things happening everywhere around the world and how women are forced to deal with violence and abuse in everyday situations.

  2. lysaleh says:

    Agreed! I did not have an opportunity to go to this year’s Monologues, but I went two years ago as a freshman and was in absolute shock. For one, I couldn’t believe what these women were saying on stage in front of such a huge audience. Two, the courage required to participate in such a wonderful event is extraordinary. I think I was mind-blown because as a student fresh out of high school, we’re not used to talking about those sorts of things in public, or at all really. Third, some of the stories I was hearing were just heartbreaking. I actually remember crying at the show, because of a rape story. I have a family member that was once put through the same horrible situation and it was just unbearable to listen to. But the Monologues are there to help us be strong and remind us that there are others that have endured the same pain. I know that’s one show I’ll never forget.

Leave a Reply

